The Report from NomCo on:

'The Approval and Election by the ICF Council for the ICF ExCo Committee for 2017 to 2021.'

1. The list of nominations and associated notes below are a result of the very successful 'Call for Nominations' (which closed on 31 December 2015) for the new ICF ExCo 2017-2021; and the large number of emails requiring that the NomCo followed the ICF Statutes & Bye-Laws diligently (as published on the ICF web-site).

2. Nominations received from the 'Call for nominations'

President (1 to be elected):

Emmanuel Gdoutos (Greece) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Elboujdaini; accepted.

Robert McMeeking (USA) - Proposed Banks-Sills; Seconded Williams; accepted.

Vice-Presidents (3 to be elected):

Mimoun Elboujdaini (USA) - Proposed Tyson; Seconded Taplin; accepted.

Francesco Iacoviello (Italy) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Ares Rosakis (USA) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Chun Wang (Australia) - Proposed Das; Seconded Ferguson; accepted.

(Note: The Senior Vice-President (SVP) is designated by the incoming President. The SVP's only function is to act for the President when he is absent - e.g. Chair Committee Meetings.)

Treasurer (de facto CEO) (1 to be elected):

Leslie Banks-Sills (Israel) - Proposed Saxena; Seconded Ravi-Chandar; accepted.

K. Ravi-Chandar (USA) - Proposed Saxena; Seconded Banks-Sills; accepted.

A. Saxena (USA) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Secretary-General (1 to be elected):

Toshimitsu Yokobori (Japan) - Proposed Yu; Seconded Taplin; accepted.

Directors (5 to be elected by Council - and 5 to be nominated by the Ex-Co on the recommendation of NomCo, and then to be approved by Council):

Wei Zhou (Singapore) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Sylvie Pommier (France) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Rhys Jones (Australia) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Bill Tyson (Canada) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Peter Flewitt (UK) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Raj Das (New Zealand) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Leslie Banks-Sills (Israel) - Proposed Saxena; Seconded Ravi-Chandar; accepted.

(Will stand if not elected to be Treasurer (de facto CEO).)

K. Ravi-Chandar (USA) - Proposed Saxena; Seconded Banks-Sills; accepted.

(Will stand if not elected to be Treasurer (de facto CEO).)

Xi-Qiao Feng (China) - Proposed T-Y Zhang; Seconded Mai; accepted.

Paulo Castro (Portugal) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Abdel-Monem El-Batahgy (Egypt) - Proposed Taplin; Seconded Gdoutos; accepted.

Robert Ritchie (USA) - Proposed Yu; Seconded X-Q Feng; accepted.

Tong-Yi Zhang (China) - Proposed Mai; Seconded Yu; accepted.

3. The Five Directors to be nominated by the ExCo on the recommendation of NomCo (then to be approved by the Council)

Sylvie Pommier (France)

Rhys Jones (Australia)

Bill Tyson (Canada)

Xi-Qiao Feng (China)

Peter Flewitt (UK)

4. Nominations to go forward to the Council

No nominations should be rejected and all should go forward to the Council. This is due to the strength of the candidates and the strength of the people who have nominated them.

5. Proposed Election Procedure to be followed by the Council

- a. The decisions by Council vote on the hosting of ICF15 in 2021 and on ICF16 in 2025 should precede the decisions by Council on the membership of the ICF ExCo 2017-2021.
- b. The order for the election will be firstly for President, then for Treasurer/CEO, then for Vice-Presidents, then for the Directors.
- c. The Council will be asked to approve the five Directors nominated by the ExCo on the recommendation of NomCo.
- d. The Council election shall then be via a secret written ballot. Ballot papers will be provided.
- e. All candidates will be invited to prepare a short statement about themselves, their ideas on the future of ICF, etc. (Half a page of A4 being the maximum allowed for this statement.) These statements will be given to the Council members present, along with the ballot form.
- f. The candidates for President will be required to attend the Council Meeting and each shall be asked to give a five-minute presentation based on their statement. Five minutes will then be allowed for questions to each candidate.
- g. The candidates for all the other positions on the new ExCo will be encouraged to attend the Council Meeting.
- h. As stated above, the Council will vote using the ballot paper supplied to fill the appropriate positions on the new ExCo. (The voting by Council will be by national delegation, each of which has one vote.)
- i. It is anticipated that the election procedure will take about 45 minutes.

Prof. Robert Ritchie (Chair, NomCo)

Prof. Tony Kinloch (Deputy Chair, NomCo)

3 Jan. 2016

Annex A. The 2013 to 2017 NomCo Membership

Robert Ritchie (Chairman) (Former President), USA Tony Kinloch (Deputy Chairman), UK Bhushan Karihaloo (Former Vice-President), UK Bill Tyson (ICF12 Co-Chair), Canada David Taplin (Former President), Canada Teruo Kishi (Former Vice-President), Japan Masaki Kitagawa (Former Secretary-General), Japan Yiu-Wing Mai (Former President), Australia Alberto Carpinteri (Former President), Italy Palle Rama Rao (Former President), India Robert Goldstein (Former Vice-President), Russia Tong-Yi Zhang (Vice-President), China